24.2 C
Tuesday, September 21, 2021

2021 T20 World Cup: Ravi Rampaul again in West Indies squad; Carlos Brathwaite not named

Must read

Picture Supply : GETTY IMAGES

2021 T20 World Cup: Ravi Rampaul again in West Indies squad; Carlos Brathwaite not named

Defending champion West Indies recalled Ravi Rampaul for the primary time since 2015 and omitted six-hitting star Carlos Brathwaite of their 15-man squad for subsequent month’s T20 World Cup.

The 36-year-old Rampaul is again in a West Indies T20 squad for the primary time in six years.

“Ravi will increase the staff’s wicket-taking choices within the power-play and the center section and can present another choice for the demise (late) overs,” lead selector Roger Harper mentioned.

Brathwaite hit 4 consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes within the last over of the 2016 T20 World Cup to win the sport for West Indies. The Caribbean aspect gained by 4 wickets with two balls remaining within the last at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Roston Chase was additionally included, incomes a T20I call-up for the primary time, principally resulting from his type within the Caribbean Premier League.

“Roston Chase has proven that he’s a really succesful T20 participant,” Harper mentioned.

“He has proven the power to knit the innings collectively whereas nonetheless scoring at a quick price with a low dot-ball proportion. He can be a wonderful foil for the explosive gamers within the staff.”

West Indies start their protection towards England in Abu Dhabi on October 23.

In addition to England, the West Indies can be joined in Group 1 by South Africa, Australia, and two qualifiers from Spherical 1. Solely the highest two finishers of the six will attain the knockout levels.

The event, delayed for a yr as a result of coronavirus pandemic, can be performed within the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

West Indies squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article