28 C
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Devendra Jhajharia, hockey coach Baldev Singh, Venkatesh Prasad named in Nationwide Sports activities Awards choice committee | Extra sports activities Information

Must read

NEW DELHI: Three-time Paralympic medal-winning javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, former cricketer Venkatesh Prasad and former world champion boxer L Sarita Devi have been named within the choice committee for this yr’s Nationwide Sports activities Awards.
Retired Supreme Courtroom decide Justice Mukundakum Sharma has been picked because the chairperson of the committee, which additionally consists of hockey coach Baldev Singh, who turned the Shahabad academy right into a nursery of worldwide ladies gamers; embellished former shooter Anjali Bhagwat; and former ladies’s cricket group captain Anjum Chopra, the sports activities ministry said in a round.
Jhajharia received a silver medal on the current Tokyo Video games, including to the 2 gold medals he had received within the 2004 and 2016 editions.
The committee will likely be assembly within the subsequent few days to determine the winners. This yr’s awards had been delayed after the federal government determined to attend for India’s efficiency at each the Olympic and Paralympic Video games.
The nation notched up historic ends in each the occasions with an unprecedented seven medals within the Olympics being adopted by a document haul of 19, together with 5 gold, on the Paralympics.
Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra was the largest star of the Olympics with a gold, which was India’s first athletics medal on the Video games and the primary high end in 13 years.
The best honour is the Khel Ratna award, whih was rechristened from Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna this yr, adopted by the Arjuna award.
The Khel Ratna carries a prize cash of Rs 25 lakh, whereas the Arjuna comes with a prize cash of Rs 15 lakh.
For coaches, the Dronacharya award is there. The annual honours additionally embrace the Lifetime Achievement award, the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar and the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) trophy for the yr 2021.
The choice committee additionally consists of Sports activities Authority of India Director Common Sandip Pradhan, and senior journalists Vijay Lokapally and Vikrant Gupta.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article