24.2 C
Tuesday, September 21, 2021

MS Dhoni is again: Followers can’t maintain calm as former India skipper joins Group India as mentor for ICC T20 World Cup | Cricket Information

Must read

Former India skipper M.S. Dhoni, who led India to a few Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) titles, will be part of the nationwide group as mentor for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup to be held in United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman in October-November.

Dhoni will work carefully with India group head coach Ravi Shastri through the competitors, stated Indian cricket board secretary Jay Shah through the announcement of the India squad in a press convention.

“Mr Mahendra Singh Dhoni can be becoming a member of Group India as mentor for the upcoming T20 World Cup. I’m glad that MS has accepted BCCI’s supply and he’s eager to contribute to the nationwide group as soon as once more. MS will work carefully with Mr Ravi Shastri in addition to different help employees to supply help and course to Group India,” stated Jay Shah, secretary of the Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) to the media in a digital interplay.

In the meantime, followers are delighted that India’s most profitable captain will mark a return to the Indian dressing room they usually took to Twitter to indicate their pleasure. Even former India batsman Wassim Jaffer shared a Rajnikanth meme to have fun the event.

Try reactions right here:

Notably, Dhoni, who took worldwide retirement final 12 months, was the captain of the Indian cricket group which gained the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007. The previous India wicketkeeper-batsman performed 98 T20Is in his profession and scored 1617 runs at a mean of 37.6 and a strike price of 126.13.

MS Dhoni in ICC T20 World Cups:

2007 – Captain

2009 – Captain

2010 – Captain

2012 – Captain

2014 – Captain

2016 – Captain

2021 – Mentor

Additionally, Dhoni is the one captain to have gained all three ICC tournaments, the T20 World Cup in 2007, the ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013.

In the meantime, BCCI introduced the India squad for the T20 World Cup, and in a shock transfer, R Ashwin has been included within the group which is able to start its marketing campaign within the showpiece occasion in opposition to arch-rivals Pakistan.

Right here’s the Group India squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby gamers – Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

India’s T20 World Cup Schedule: Oct 24: vs Pakistan (Dubai), Oct 31: vs New Zealand (Dubai); Nov 3: vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi); Nov 5: vs Qualifier – B1 (Dubai); Nov 8: vs Qualifier – A2 (Dubai).

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article